Radio 1 DJ Clara Amfo announced as a judge for prestigious Mercury Prize

TOP JUDGE: Clara Amfo

TOP JUDGE: Clara Amfo

RADIO 1 DJ Clara Amfo has been added to the judging panel for this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize.

She will join previously announced names including former Mercury winner Jarvis Cocker, musicians Kate Tempest, Jamie Cullum and Wolf Alice’s Ellie Rowsell, producer Naughty Boy and radio DJ Annie Mac.

The final panel is completed by Jeff Smith, head of music at 6 Music and Radio 2; Phil Alexander, editor-in-chief of Kerrang!, Mojo and Q magazines; Harriet Gibsone, music news editor at The Guardian; and Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic at The Times.

The judges will compile the shortlist of 12 “Albums of the Year”, which will be revealed at a live launch, hosted by 6 Music’s Shaun Keaveny, on August 4.

Music fans will be able to select one of the six finalists for the trophy and £20,000 prize money through an online poll, with the winner announced at a special ceremony on September 15 to mark the award’s 25th anniversary.

Last year, the prize was won by Benjamin Clementine for his debut album At Least For Now.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s